Chicken Stir Fry

Last summer the hubs and I sat down and sadly placed ourselves on a budget. It was not one of my happiest days, but it sure has helped us tremendously. When he told me I spend close to one grand in one month at the grocery store, I pretty much freaked out. There was no way! Me? Spend close to $1000 in one month on food? After looking into our credit card charges Brady was most certainly correct. {Not good}

It is easy to spend a fortune on groceries. When we first moved to NC, I would pay a visit to the grocery store several times a week. Before I knew it, I was buying random items and our grocery bill was out of control! My only solution after all these months isΒ meal planning. I had heard it over and over again. It was not until I put the meal planning to practice did I realize the practicality of planning. We have reduced our grocery bill to a third of what we used to spend each month! Each Sunday evening I plan our meals. {Yes it takes time} I usually cook and plan for three meals during the week. The hubs enjoys a hot lunch at work, so I double a recipe one night in order for him to have leftovers. We usually have nightly activities two nights out of the week, so leftovers are sometimes incorporated into additional meals.

{My goal for upcoming posts will include a price breakdown for each meal}

Sunday night after researching meals I make my grocery list. Want to know the secret to saving some cash? STICKING to your grocery list. I LOVE to grocery shop. Weird? Yes. It has been so hard for me not to wonder down each aisle and think of what I could need. Now I mark each item off my list, add it to my cart and dash for the check out.

There are definitely some weeks that meal planning just does not work. Last weekend we were out of town until late Sunday night, so that in turn made me a complete zombie Monday at the store. I purchased enough food for the week but somehow could not remember what I planned each night. Looking into my fridge only two days later, I wondered what in the world I was to make for dinner!? The hubs loves Asian food so I came up with this recipe! Enjoy!

IMG_2255

Chicken Stir Fry

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 cups shredded cabbage
  • 1 cup pea shoots
  • 1/2 green pepper (sliced)
  • 4 medium carrots (thinly sliced)
  • 1 cup snow peas
  • 3 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  1. Cut chicken into cubes and place in bowl. Toss chicken with olive oil and soy sauce until well combined.
  2. Heat 1-2 tbsp olive oil in pan or wok and sear chicken. Cook chicken completely then remove from pan and set aside.
  3. Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in pan and add cabbage, pea shoots, green pepper and carrots.
  4. Cook for 3 minutes or until vegetables are slightly soft.
  5. Add chicken, snow peas, sesame oil and soy sauce. Toss thoroughly or until liquid is evaporated.
  6. Serve warm and enjoy!

Craving some carbs? Toss this dish with lo mein noodles, linguine pasta or rice!

 

One thought on “Chicken Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

