PB Oatmeal Granola Bars

Good morning! Are you loving this spring weather? I hope so!

The hubs had a work dinner earlier this week so this left me home alone with the kitchen all to myself. {More recipes to come next week} This weekend I am meeting up with some sweet friends to celebrate a friend getting married next month! You know what weekend trips mean to me? Over indulging in great food.

Road trips also equal snacks. {Multiple snacks} Snacking is my weakness. From personal experience, I have learned to pack healthy snacks for myself on weekend trips. One of the girls we are spending time with this weekend is an amazing cook. She can come up with a meal from essentially nothing. She is awesome! To keep me from indulging in her delicious dishes throughout the day, I am packing myself some homemade granola bars.

As you may have already learned, I have a slight obsession for oats. I can have them for breakfast, incorporate them into a snack or place them on top of fruit for a desert crisp. They have a long shelf life, are inexpensive and allow for hundreds of dishes. The Gracious Pantry gave me some inspiration on making these wonderful snack bars. All of the ingredients used were “kitchen friendly”. I did not have to buy a single item! {Two thumbs up}

These granola bars contain chocolate chips, dried cranberries, dates and raw sunflower seeds. There are so many possible flavors! Some other ideas are raisins, dried blueberries, peanut butter chips, coconut, etc. I added a little less coconut oil and honey, and increased the amount of “mix ins” to the bars. Make them personal to your taste!

 

IMG_2197

Oatmeal Granola Bars (adapted from here)

You will need the following:

  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup dried dates (pitted and sliced)
  • 1/4 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup natural peanut butter (or almond butter)
  1. In a large bowl combine the oats, cranberries, dates, chocolate chips, sunflower seeds and cinnamon. Stir well.
  2. In a microwave safe bowl combine the oil, honey, vanilla extract and peanut butter. Place in microwave for 30 seconds. Remove from microwave and stir. Heat for additional 30 seconds or until liquid ingredients combine well.
  3. Pour the peanut butter mixture into the mixing bowl and mix well to completely coat the oats.
  4. Press mixture into an oiled or parchment lined baking dish. (I used an 8×8 baking dish)
  5. Freeze for 2 hours.
  6. Cut bars with a sharp knife and enjoy!

Let me know if you have any suggestions! I would love to hear!

Tomorrow there may or may not be a sweet treat coming your way. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

