Homemade Granola

Hello Wednesday!  Halfway through until the weekend arrives.  {Weekend getaway to come}  Yes please.

Who doesn’t love stumbling upon a new blog?  Especially when the topic is food.  Well I did just that!  The Paleo Cupboard that is.  Now don’t think we have gone completely 100% paleo, but I am in the middle of my 24 Day Challenge and need to stay consistent with my eating!  No cheating.

I am obsessed with granola. Just slightly. I am not allowed to buy it regularly.  Simply due to the fact that I will munch my way to the bottom of the box in one sitting.  Thank goodness this granola is better for you than most, because I taste tested it way too many times.  This recipe by Paleo Cupboard provides the perfect granola with “kitchen friendly” ingredients!

I always have raw nuts and oats on hand {they are a staple for me}.  The coconut oil may be the only ingredient you will have to purchase if you are not already in possession of it. I omitted the seeds, coconut flakes and salt and added whole grain oats instead.  I also eyeballed the amount of oil and honey I added.  You can always add more or less depending on your desirable consistency of the granola.  If you are not a fan of whole nuts in your granola, make sure you place them in a food processor or smash them in a plastic bag.

Paleo Granola (slightly altered from here)

What you will need:

  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup raw pecans
  • 1/4 cup whole grain oats (old fashioned)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup raisins (or your favorite dried fruit)

-Preheat oven to 275 F. Place the almonds, cashews, pecans and whole grain oats in a food processor or blender and pulse a few times to break into smaller chunks.

-Microwave the coconut oil, raw honey and vanilla extract together in a medium sized mixing bowl for about 30-45 seconds. Add the nuts and oats and stir to coat.

-Spread the granola mixture evenly onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and cook for about 25-30 minutes or until lightly browned, stirring once or twice. Remove from heat and add the raisins, pressing the mixture together to form a flat surface.

-Allow to cool for about 20 minutes or until hardened.

Warning: Once you start you wont be able to stop. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

