Crock Pot Chicken and a Challenge

Good morning to all!

Have you ever been motivated to start something new such as a hobby, diet, blog, etc and months later gotten around to it?  Yep.  That is me.  I have been wanting to start a blog for a long time and I am finally getting around to it!  Finally.

My  husband and I got married in April 2013 and immediately moved to Wilmington, NC.  Currently unemployed and gearing up to move (again) this is a way to share budget friendly recipes, weekend getaways, the love of Christ and much more.

Yesterday I started the Advocare 24 Day Challenge.  The hubs and I are committing 24 days to clean eating, exercise and taking supplements provided by Advocare.  I. Love. Food.  The last thing I would ever do is deprive myself from eating.  This challenge allows you to eat several small meals throughout the day.  Music to my ears.  It is full of vitamins and minerals and gives you so much energy!  I am on day 2 and feel wonderful.  Check it out!

This crock pot chicken by Mountain Momma Cooks is AMAZING.  Most chicken that sits for hours in a crock pot turns out mushy and soggy to me.  This turned out tender, flavorful and 100% clean.  Better yet, I did not have to buy any of the ingredients!  They were all “kitchen friendly”.  {My phrase for ingredients that are already on hand somewhere in the kitchen} I already had frozen chicken in the freezer and all the spices were in my cabinet.   Most of you should have these spices hidden away in your cabinets as well!  Make sure you completely thaw out your chicken before adding to crock pot.  If you do not have chicken broth on hand, it can be substituted with water.  It just needs enough liquid to prevent the chicken from drying out and sticking to the crock pot.

The beauty of this chicken allows you to make so many dishes!  I have paired with quinoa, whole wheat pasta, sautéed spinach, crustless quiche and also made it into a salad.  You could also have a fiesta night with chicken tacos!  The possibilities are endless.

Slow Cooker Shredded Chicken (from here)

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon seasoned salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 dried oregano teaspoon
  1. Place chicken in the bottom of crock pot.
  2. Combine spices and make sure spices are evenly distributed on the chicken.
  3. Cook on LOW for 4-6 hours or until completely cooked.

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

